Regions of Malaysia




















The states and federal territories of Malaysia are the principal administrative divisions of Malaysia. Malaysia is a federation comprising thirteen states and three federal territories.The capital city is Kuala Lumpur, while Putrajaya is the seat of the federal government. Malaysia’s course of history has been dictated by its strategic position at one of the world’s major crossroads, and a place of cohabitation and interaction of a wide array of races, religions and traditions. The present day Federation of Malaysia came into existence only in 1965, when Sarawak and Sabah joined the federation.

Eleven states and two federal territories are located on the Malay Peninsula, collectively called Peninsular Malaysia or West Malaysia. Two states are on the island of Borneo, and the remaining one federal territory consists of islands offshore of Borneo; they are collectively referred to as Sabah and Sarawak East Malaysia or Malaysian Borneo.



West Coast

The more developed side of Peninsular Malaysia, with the states of Kedah, Malacca, Negeri Sembilan, Penang, Perak, Perlis and Selangor, as well as two Federal Territories; Malaysia’s capital city Kuala Lumpur and the new administrative centre of Putrajaya, all located within this region. Majority of the Chinese population live on the West side.

 East Coast

More traditional Muslim, the islands here are glittering tropical jewels. Made up of the states of Kelantan, Pahang and Terengganu.


Comprising just one state, Johor, two coastlines, and endless palm oil plantations.


Read More…





Some 800 km to the east is East Malaysia (Malaysia Timur), which occupies the northern third of the island of Borneo, shared with Indonesia and tiny Brunei. Partly covered in impenetrable jungle where headhunters roam (on GSM networks if nothing else), East Malaysia is rich in natural resources but very much Malaysia’s hinterland for industry and tourism.


Superb scuba diving in Sipadan island plus muck diving at Mabul, , nature reserves, the federal enclave of Labuan, and mighty Mount Kinabalu.


Jungles, national parks, and traditional longhouses. Read More…